Getting Started Tutorial
Thanks for installing Datameer!
Here are a few pointers to help you get started.
Get Started with Your First Analysis
The simplest way to get comfortable with Datameer’s capabilities is to use this short tutorial to make your first analysis. In ten minutes, you can go from CSV data to a meaningful analytical infographic. For this tutorial, you calculate and visualize the average age of sample users based on the city they live in.
Working with this Tutorial (Datameer versions 7.4.+)
These instructions can be found in PDF format by opening Datameer (versions 7.4.x +) and right-clicking the file “Getting Started in the Datameer File Browser. Select Open to download this file and follow these instructions.
For Datameer versions prior to 7.4.x, please refer to the instructions found later in this section to complete the “Hello World” Tutorial.
To download the complete PDF, click the file below.
Part One: Workbook Analysis
In this section, you add data to your workbook and use some functions to prepare your data for visualization.
In Datameer’s File Browser, select your home folder.
From the plus (+) menu in the top bar, select Workbook.
The Add Data window opens.Select Sample CSV Data. Click Add Data. The workbook opens with the sample data.
Click the plus (+) icon next to the sheet name (Sample_ CSV_Data) at the bottom of the workbook to create a new sheet.
In the Formula Builder select the Grouping category from the column on the left.
Select GROUPBY. This function combines the different values (city, in this case) and groups them together so the data is more easily parsed.
Add an argument by clicking the Sample_CSV_Data tab to return to the first sheet. If the Formula Builder covers the sheet names at the bottom, drag it to the right to find the Sample_CSV_Data sheet.
Click the City column of the sheet. The Arguments field is populated.
Click OK. A new City column appears on Sheet1. Now the city values are aggregated to just show each unique city.
Click in the second column (column B) of Sheet1 to add a second function.
In the Formula Builder, select the Grouping category and GROUPAVERAGE function. This function uses the grouping already created (city) and calculates the average of another column (age) for that grouping.
From the Sample_CSV_Data sheet, click the Age column for the argument.
Click OK. A new Average_Age column appears on Sheet1. This shows the average age of the occupants per city.
Save your workbook by clicking the Save Workbook icon.
Name your workbook. In this example, use My Workbook.
Click Save.
At the bottom of the Workbook Settings page, select Start calculation process immediately after save.
Click Save.
Part Two: Create a Visualization
Now that you’ve prepared your data, making a visualization helps you see relationships in the data. Datameer offers many different types of graphs and charts, but for this tutorial, you use a multi-bar chart to find the relationship between age and city location.
In the File Browser, select your home folder.
From the plus (+) menu in the top bar, select Infographic.
Select a Multi-bar chart from the Add Widget toolbox and drag and drop it to the middle of the page. A multi-bar chart is a great choice because it shows the simple relationship between the data.
Click the Data tab on the widget to show which properties need to be entered for the configuration.
Navigate to Your home folder > My Workbook in the Browser toolbox on the right. From there, open Latest Results > Sheet1 by clicking the arrow next to the name. If your workbook is still running, wait for the results. If it hasn’t run yet, right-click the workbook in the File Browser and select Run.
Drag the City column to the Label field and the Average_Age column to the Data field of the widget. The updated widget now shows you the relationship between age and location. Click off of the chart to close the Data tab and view the chart, which shows you that the average age in New York City is the oldest of the cities included. Hover over the columns to see the information.
From the File menu, select Save.
Name your infographic and click Save.
If you close your infographic and want to view it again, open the infographic in the File Browser by double- clicking the name of your infographic to view your chart.
Congratulations! You’ve now performed your first analysis. Enjoy exploring Datameer, and for more information and help along the way, check out our documentation.
Follow this tutorial to complete the simplest end-to-end analytics example. You upload some data, build an analytics workbook, and visualize your results in an infographic.
This tutorial describes how to open this file after it's downloaded from the App market. To download the app, click the App Market tab from inside Datameer, locate the app, and click Install.
1. Open the first tutorial folder Tutorial Hello World in the File Browser tab or download the app from the App Market.
2. In the Resource folder, double-click the My Upload file and click Configure. (As of v6.3, click Open.)
3. This screen is where you can choose the file you want to upload by clicking Choose File and format by selecting the drop-down menu. For this example, click Next to continue.
4. Under Data Details leave the Column names are contained in the first row containing data check box selected. Notice you can choose your delimiter and advanced options (e.g. quote character). Click Next to continue.
5. You now see a preview of the data where you can make any changes as needed to the file type, column name, or columns to include. Click Next.
6. The configuration sections gives you the option of defining a sample size of the data to show. Under Advanced, users can define optional custom properties. Click Next.